The Dawning of the Age of Aquarius

One of the traits commonly assigned to people who fall within my particular zodiac sign is a certain kind of flightiness in which we have a lot of ideas, but find it difficult to focus on just one. I don’t necessarily believe in astrology, but I’ve got to own up to this one. Ideas come in abundance and I have a very hard time deciding what I want to work on next.

This is part of the reason I struggle with blogging regularly.  My brain goes off on so many tangential directions and I struggle to pin down a focus.

I want to write a blog about my gardening efforts.

I want to write a blog about my genealogy work.

I want to start a podcast.

I want to write a blog about home renovations.

I want to open an Etsy shop to sell paintings…and knitwear…and aromatherapy soaps…

And don’t even get me starts on the 30 different books (both fiction and non, in all sorts of different genres) and stories, I want to devote all of my time to.

On and on and on and on…

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, about how I have so many different interests and how, in our specialization-style world, I feel as if I’m expected to dedicate myself to only one thing forever and am completely unable to do so. It’s enough to drive a person mad.

Of course, I know I’m not the only one, so I’d love to hear from you guys about your struggles and triumphs with the specialization expectation. Do you chafe at the idea of having to have multiple social media accounts for separate identities or does this come more naturally to you (and if so do you have any tips, pretty please, I’m begging you)? Did you change your major 8 times in college and still end up with a career unrelated to any of them? Do you find yourself showing different aspects of your personality when around different people and sometimes wonder which one is the authentic you? I’d love to hear your story. I can’t guarantee I’ll ever do any further work on this subject (as evidenced by its very nature), but at the moment, I would very much like to explore it.

 

2 thoughts on “The Dawning of the Age of Aquarius

  1. So I found your book about baseball on the blog “Discovering Indie Writers” which lead me here. I definitely struggle with specialization. Case in point: I “am” a photographer, but I don’t pursue it now because I “am” a writer. I used to write stories, now I write plays. But I also am passionate about water management. I hear you.. So my take on the challenge? I’m still in the process of discovery but I’ve deemed this year the year of creativism and setting up monthly or bi-monthly mini-projects (less than 4 – 6 hours per month). This month it’s a community, grassroots crowd-sourced story telling project. This summer, (I’m planning ahead), I hope it will be a pop-up theater, or “flash-skit”: (instead of flash-mob”. Looking forward to reading your work!

    1. I love the idea of mini-projects! It sounds like a great way to deal with exploring multiple interests. Also, your particular projects sound fascinating (especially the flash-skit. I’ve never heard of one before). I wish you the very best on all of them!

Leave a Reply

