Social Media and My Writing Process.

Social media and I have a fraught relationship.

I’m probably the only introvert on the planet who actually finds internet social interacts more draining than in person social interactions. I wish I could explain what exactly it is about posting a facebook status that makes me queasy, but there it is.

Unfortunately, this twitchy little problem makes self-promotion (a must for an author or creator of any kind in this day and age) all the more difficult. It makes a lot of things difficult actually: from keeping up with groups I am part of (“Didn’t you see the facebook event?”) to knowing what’s going on with my friends. I realize I bring this isolation on myself. It just makes me wonder sometimes if there are ways that I can wade back into the waters of social media and self promotion without completely falling apart.

I haven’t used facebook regularly since ~2008. I wouldn’t even know where to begin, which is sad as I was an early adopter after all. Twitter gives me information overload, despite lists and filters, and Tumblr is getting to that point as well.

So fellow writers, I want to hear from you because I need some serious help getting back on board in this arena. How you use social media to leverage your online presence?

Leave a Reply

